SOPA 2023 Awards Gala Dinner

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the SOPA 2023 Awards for Editorial Excellence this year! Join us as we celebrate this awards milestone moment with an evening of recognizing the best in journalism.

SOPA 2023 Awards Winners announced in person 🏆

Awards Finalists and Winners

Evening Presentation slides and Certificates

Evening photos

Timeline for the SOPA 2023 Awards:

SOPA 2023 评选时程表 :

February 16, 2023 (Thursday) 3pm HKT: Deadline submission

May 2023: Finalists announced

June 15, 2023 (Thursday): Save the Date: Awards Winners announced in person only at JW Marriott Hong Kong

2023年2月16日(星期四) 3:00pm HKT:征件截止


2023年6月15日 (星期四): 预留时间 : 颁奖礼将于2023年6月15日晚上, 在香港金钟JW万豪酒店举行, 所有得奖者结果将于典礼上公布

Please be sure to read through ALL the info on the website, especially the Rules & FAQs before submitting your entries here

No refunds will be made once entries are submitted.
All the best with your entries!



About SOPA Awards

The Society of Publishers in Asia was founded in Hong Kong in 1982 to encourage best practices in the publishing industry, set a high bar for journalistic standards and be a voice for press freedom and journalists' rights in Asia Pacific.

As part of that mandate, SOPA established the annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence in 1999 to recognize and reward great journalism. The annual awards are highly coveted and have become a highlight of the regional media calendar.

SOPA's Editorial Committee, composed of senior journalists, oversees the awards in coordination with SOPA's board of publisher representatives.  All members volunteer their time throughout the year leading up to the annual awards.

In 2011, the University of Hong Kong's Journalism & Media Studies Centre was appointed to administer the awards, including recruiting distinguished former or current journalists and academics from around the world to be judges. Each year, those judges donate their time and make sure editorial standards are upheld.

More than 90 awards are given out each year in an array of categories, which are periodically reviewed to keep pace with the ever-evolving ways that journalism is delivered to consumers. In recent years, we have added Video Reporting and Journalistic Innovation to our lineup; the Public Service Journalism award replaced the Journalist of the Year category; and we have launched the category of Young Journalist of the Year.

Two more new categories were added for the 2022 Awards: Excellence in Technology Reporting and Excellence in Audio Reporting.

Since the awards were established, they have been open to digital and print publications in English and Chinese.  In 2023, to mark the 25th anniversary of the SOPA Awards, we are expanding our regional reach to include a new category for Bahasa Indonesia publications.

Why Enter The SOPA Awards?

The SOPA Awards have served as recognition of the region’s most outstanding journalists and publishers while supporting and defending a free press in Asia. Brands are judged by the company they keep, and every year SOPA Awards draw hundreds of entries from top-class successful media brands doing business in Asia. Don’t miss the chance to enhance your reputation for quality journalism that attracts influential readers and a broader base of advertisers


As a not-for-profit organization, sponsorship is key to ensuring the vitality of the annual SOPA Awards. Over the years, SOPA has been fortunate in receiving strong support from its sponsors. Please contact for more information on how to support the SOPA Awards.

Stay Updated